Search TXNP

< More Press Releases

Monday, January 22, 2018

Share: facebooktwitterdigg


January, 2016

The Texas Cultural Trust (TCT) is pleased to announce the call for nomination for the 2017 Texas Medal of Arts Awards (TMAA).  This biennial event, co-chaired by Guillermo Nicolas and Peter Holt of San Antonio, celebrates those whose artistic talent or philanthropic support has helped to shine the spotlight on the arts in Texas.  The TMAAs is a series of events over a two-day span that includes a VIP Legislative Reception and Honoree Dinner, the Stars of Texas Brunch, and the gala itself, complete with red carpet arrivals, cocktail reception, star-studded award show, and dinner.  Nominations will be accepted between January 5and February 5, 2016. For more information, visit       


The Texas Medal of Arts Awards accepts nominations in the following categories:


          Architecture                                 Music

          Arts Education                             Television

          Dance                                         Theatre

          Design                                        Visual Arts

          Film                                            Corporate Arts Patron

          Lifetime Achievement                   Foundation Arts Patron

          Literary Arts                                Individual Arts Patron




Awards may not be presented in all categories, and are not awarded posthumously.  Honorees must be present to accept award. Nomination forms and criteria can be found at


“This is an excellent opportunity for us to honor some Texas’ most creative, talented, and supportive people, foundations, and corporations who have made substantial contributions to the arts,” said Guillermo Nicolas, 2017 TMAA Co-chair and long-time Trust board member.  “We are fortunate to have an overwhelming abundance of talented artists and generous supporters of the arts with roots in the Lone Star State, and we look forward to honoring them with this award.” 


About the Awards:

Since its inception in 2001, the Awards have spotlighted and celebrated 98 Texas leaders and luminaries who have achieved greatness through their creative talents, as well as those whose generosity has opened doors to artistic opportunity for Texans of all ages. As the signature event for the Texas Cultural Trust, the Texas Medal of Arts Awards highlights and promotes the power of the arts to children’s education, the state’s economy, and to the unique and proud Texas culture. Past TMAA honorees include: Jamie Foxx, The Gatlin Brothers, the Kilgore College Rangerettes, Chandra Wilson, Ruth Altshuler, Eva Longoria, ZZ Top, Willie Nelson, Steve Miller, Tommy Lee Jones, Betty Buckley, Bob Schieffer, Laura W. Bush, Debbie Allen, Robert Rodriguez, Walter Cronkite, Nancy B. Hamon, Sandra Cisneros, Robert Rauschenberg, Clint Black, Anheuser Busch Companies, Lyle Lovett, Texas Monthly, Neiman Marcus, and Exxon Mobil, among others.  View the complete list at 


About the Texas Cultural Trust:

The Texas Cultural Trust is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization whose mission is to promote the importance of the arts in educating our children and sustaining our vibrant Texas economy, through awareness, outreach, economic research, and the development of arts education curriculum for public school students.  Programs of the Texas Cultural Trust include the biennial Texas Medal of Arts Awards, the Texas Young Masters Program, Create Texas, Arts and Digital Literacy Initiative, Adventures in the ARTS—a children's book, Texas Women for the Arts and Founders for the Arts, as well as support for programs of the Texas Commission on the Arts and other qualifying state agencies. For more information on TCT, please visit 


Your TXNP Weekly E-Newsletter is made possible by the generosity of:

FROST in many Texas cities

TXNP Professional Members Are Dedicated to Texas and Texans.

Aurora Grants & Consulting |Dawson Murray Teague Communications | ELITE Research | FOR THE PHILANTHROPIST | Graystone Consulting | J A Churchill Associates | John F. Lewis PC | McConnell & Jones LLC

Sign up for your personal TXNP E-Newsletter

at-t Meadows Foundation express news HOBLITZELLE FOUNDATION v greenly zachry foundation w b h b bank of america southwest airlines Sid W. Richardson Foundation forst