Search TXNP

< More Press Releases

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Share: facebooktwitterdigg

Texas Sculpture Group on viewAugust 22 - September 27, 2014
Lawndale Art Center Houston

July, 2014

Lawndale Art Center
For Immediate Release

Lawndale Art Center

Texas Sculpture Group 2014: A Panoramic View

Curated by James Surls

In memory of TSG member artists, Lee Littlefield, Bert Long, Jr. and Damian Priour


On View
August 22 - September 27, 2014

Opening Reception Friday, August 22, 2014, 6:30 - 8:30 PM

Curator talk at 6 PM


Houston, Texas - Lawndale Art Center presents Texas Sculpture Group 2014: A Panoramic Viewopening August 22, 2014, 6:30 - 8:30 PM, with a talk by curator James Surls beginning at 6 PM. Presented in the O'Quinn, Horton, Canvar, Project space galleries and the Mary E. Bawden Sculpture Garden at Lawndale, this exhibition illustrates the excellent quality and diversity of contemporary sculpture in Texas curated by James Surls. The exhibition is dedicated to and in memory of late TSG Members Lee Littlefield, Bert Long, Jr. and Damian Priour, whose work is also featured in the exhibition. With eighty plus artist members, the exhibition is an opportunity for viewers to see the breadth of sculptural practice and diversity of media taking place all over the state: from bronze casting to video and performance, from site specific installations to light and sound to craft bombing. The exhibition acts as a catalyst for a conversation about what is Texas sculpture and the evolution that technology has had on contemporary practice.The exhibition will be on view through September 27, 2014.


Artists in the exhibition include:


Ben Appl (Austin), Peter Arcidiacono (San Marcos, TX), Richard Ariola(Las Vegas), Jan Ayers Friedman (Fort Worth), Brent Baggett (Austin),Jerolyn Bahm-Colombik (Wimberly), Robbie Barber (Waco), Joe Barrington (Throckmorton), Verina S. Baxter (Flintstone, GA), Jill Bedgood (Georgetown), Lauren Browning (San Antonio), Steve Brudniak (Austin), Susan Budge (San Antonio), Danville Chadbourne(San Antonio), Valérie Chaussonnet (Austin), Roger Colombik(Wimberley), Dylan Conner (Houston), Princess Cook (San Antonio), Erin Cunningham (Austin), Stephen Daly (Austin), Stephanie Darling (San Antonio), Glenn Downing (Waco), Kurt Dyrhaug (Beaumont), Noah Edmundson (Houston), Carter Ernst (Houston), Daniel Esquivel-Brandt (Houston), Bill FitzGibbons (San Antonio), Susan Fitzsimmons(McAllen), Jerry Freid (Dallas), Brooke Gassiot (Austin), Amy Gerhauser (San Angelo), Nell Gottlieb (Houston), Larry Graeber (San Antonio),Andrew Bellatti Green (Austin), Jack Gron (Corpus Christi), Thomas Jack Hilton (Austin), Chad Hines (Temple), Yu Ru Huang (Houston),Dewane Hughes (Troup), Richard Hyslin (McAllen), Meredith Jack(Houston), Maria Cristina Jadick (Houston), Paul Kittelson (Houston),Sharon Kopriva (Houston), Eric F. Krause (Johnson City), Alexander Larsen (Houston), Margaret Losinski (Houston), Peter Mangan(Blanco), Wells Mason (Coupland), Colleen McCulla-Thomas (Martindale), Jason Mehl (Dallas), Bill Molthen (Austin), Hans Molzberger (Houston), Steve Murphy (Houston), Sherry Owens (Dallas), Griselda Elena Peña (Austin), Beverly Penn (Austin), Caprice Pierucci (Austin), Susan Plum (Houston), Chasity Porter (Missouri City), Cat Quintanilla (Austin), Patrick Renner (Houston), Greg Reuter(Corpus Christi), Jim Robertson (Trinity), Jonathan Sanders (Austin), Paul Seeman (Corpus Christi), Sabine Senft (San Antonio), Luke Sides (Oak Point), Judith Simonds (Austin), Richard Skurla (Waco),Stephanie Sterling (Leander), Sebastian J. Stoddart (San Marcos), Laura Sturtz (Austin), Tanya Synar(Denton), Damon J. Thomas (Houston), George Tobolowsky (Dallas), Cody Vance (San Antonio),Hank Waddell (Austin), Gary Webernick (Austin), Brian Wedgworth (McAllen), Jonathan Whitfill(Lubbock), Ed Wilson (Houston), Michael Witzel (Bergheim) and Ben Woitena (Houston)


Also on view through January 2015, Otabenga Jones & Associates' mural The People's Plate is on view on Lawndale's north exterior wall.


Click here to download this press release as a PDF. For high resolution images, click the images below or email



Bill FitzGibbons
Right Side/ Wrong Side, 2014
12' x 8" x 10'
Beverly Penn
Hydra II, 2013
5' x 5' x 1.5'
Susan Plum
Naturaleza Oculta/Hidden Nature, 2013
Mixed Media
5' x 5' x 9'



About Texas Sculpture Group:


The Texas Sculpture Group is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization formed for the purposes of promoting contemporary sculpture as an art form, educating the public regarding the aesthetics of sculpture, and promoting and supporting sculptors.

The organization's goal is to establish or renew the identification and camaraderie among those who make, collect, research, or simply enjoy contemporary sculpture in Texas. Our ongoing program of networking, discussion, web presence, publication and exhibition seeks to expand the audience for this art form within and beyond the region. 
About Lawndale Art Center:  

Lawndale Art Center develops local contemporary artists and the audience for their art. Lawndale is dedicated to the presentation of contemporary art with an emphasis on work by Houston artists.

Lawndale presents exhibitions, lectures and events, and offers an annual residency program to further the creative exchange of ideas among Houston's diverse artistic, cultural and student communities.

Gallery Hours:  
Monday-Friday, 10-5; Saturday, 12-5; Closed Sunday


Exhibitions on View:

Exhibitions open on Friday, August 22, 2014     

and will remain on view through Saturday, September 27, 2014.

For additional information, please contact:
Dennis Nance


Programs at Lawndale are supported in part by The National Endowment for the Arts, Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, The City of Houston through the Houston Museum District Association, The Texas Commission on the Arts, Houston Endowment, The Brown Foundation, Inc., The John R. Eckel, Jr. Foundation, The John P. McGovern Foundation, The Joan Hohlt and Roger Wich Foundation, Felvis Foundation/David R. Graham, Mid-America Arts Alliance, John M. O'Quinn, Gracie and Bob Cavnar, Cecily E. Horton, Ann W. Harithas, Diana M. Hudson and Lee Kaplan, Julia and Luke Burke, Monica Rios and Colin Fulton, Bruce Eames, Samantha Schnee and Michael Hafner, Henke Law Firm LLP, Jenny and Mark Johnson, Gretchen and Andrew McFarland, Paula Murphy, Lia and David Rodi, Nicole and Joey Romano, Scott R. Sparvero, Mary Martha and Joel Staff, TeleFlex, United Airlines, Kinzelman Art Consulting, Number 4 High Performance Hair Care, Page, Poggenpohl Design Studio, and other contributors, memberships, benefit events and many volunteers.


Your TXNP Weekly E-Newsletter is made possible by the generosity of:

FROST in many Texas cities

TXNP Professional Members Are Dedicated to Texas and Texans.

Aurora Grants & Consulting |Dawson Murray Teague Communications | ELITE Research | FOR THE PHILANTHROPIST | Graystone Consulting | J A Churchill Associates | John F. Lewis PC | McConnell & Jones LLC

Sign up for your personal TXNP E-Newsletter

at-t Meadows Foundation express news HOBLITZELLE FOUNDATION v greenly zachry foundation w b h b bank of america southwest airlines Sid W. Richardson Foundation forst