Search TXNP

< More Press Releases

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Share: facebooktwitterdigg


November, 2011

Andrew Tsin, UTSA professor of biochemistry and physiology, is
among 17 individuals and organizations selected to receive a ³Presidential
Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring.²
Tsin, the only Texan on the list, will receive his award at a White House
ceremony later this year.

Awarded by the White House to individuals and organizations, the award
recognizes the crucial role that mentoring plays in the academic and
personal development of students studying science and
engineering‹particularly those who belong to groups that are
underrepresented in these fields. By offering their expertise and
encouragement, mentors help prepare the next generation of scientists and
engineers while ensuring that tomorrow¹s innovators reflect and benefit from
the diverse talent of the United States.

³Through their commitment to education and innovation, these individuals and
organizations are playing a crucial role in the development of our 21st
century workforce,² said President Barack Obama.  ³Our nation owes them a
debt of gratitude for helping ensure that America remains the global leader
in science and engineering for years to come.²

Candidates for the award are nominated by colleagues, administrators, and
students in their home institutions.  The mentoring can involve students at
any grade level from elementary through graduate school. In addition to
being honored at the White House, recipients receive awards of $25,000 from
the National Science Foundation to advance their mentoring efforts. The
mentors and organizations represent the winners for 2010 and 2011.

Tsin¹s nomination for the award was submitted by UTSA College of Sciences
Dean George Perry and Terri Krakower, Associate Director for Research
Initiatives in the CRTS.

³The Whitehouse award recognizes Dr. Tsin's 30 year commitment to effective
education and mentoring of underrepresented students,² said Perry.  ³UTSA,
specifically the College of Sciences, is fortunate to have his leadership.²

Tsin is a nationally recognized biochemist with a successful 30-year history
of mentoring minorities and other underrepresented groups of students.
Under his leadership, more than 100 undergraduate and graduate students have
completed their degrees and either continued their educational journeys or
taken on positions as scientific researchers, medical physicians or
educators. Additionally, as founding director for UTSA¹s Center for Research
and Training in the Sciences (CRTS), Tsin helped secure more than $52
million dollars in grant funding to support research and training programs
for underrepresented minorities.

³I am elated to learn of this honor for UTSA,² said Tsin. ³It speaks highly
of the outstanding quality of our STEM education and training programs in
the College of Sciences.²

The University of Texas at San Antonio is one of the fastest growing higher
education institutions in Texas and one of nine academic universities and
six health institutions in the UT System. As a multicultural institution,
UTSA aims to be a national research university providing access to
educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global

UTSA serves nearly 31,000 students in 135 degree programs in the colleges of
Architecture, Business, Education and Human Development, Engineering,
Honors, Liberal and Fine Arts, Public Policy, Sciences and the Graduate
School. Founded in 1969, UTSA is an intellectual and creative resource
center and a socioeconomic development catalyst for Texas and beyond. Learn
more at


Your TXNP Weekly E-Newsletter is made possible by the generosity of:

FROST in many Texas cities

TXNP Professional Members Are Dedicated to Texas and Texans.

Aurora Grants & Consulting |Dawson Murray Teague Communications | ELITE Research | FOR THE PHILANTHROPIST | Graystone Consulting | J A Churchill Associates | John F. Lewis PC | McConnell & Jones LLC

Sign up for your personal TXNP E-Newsletter

at-t Meadows Foundation express news HOBLITZELLE FOUNDATION v greenly zachry foundation w b h b bank of america southwest airlines Sid W. Richardson Foundation forst