Search TXNP

< More Press Releases

Saturday, January 20, 2018

Share: facebooktwitterdigg

Robert Earl Keen Performs In Concert February 5 At Austinís Paramount Theatre Featuring Sara Hickmanís New Best Of Times CD Benefiting Theatre Action Project
Theatre Action Project

January, 2011

Musician Sara Hickman, the Official State Musician of Texas 2010 by the Texas Commission on the Arts, has pulled together an incredible list of Texas' finest musicians to play her songs on an album called Best of Times. Hickman is donating all of the proceeds of the album to Theatre Action Project an Austin, Texas based nonprofit that provides arts programs to thousands of local youth.

On February 5, 2011 at 8 p.m. Theatre Action Project is hosting a CD release party and fundraiser at Austin’s historic Paramount Theatre. The concert lineup includes performances by Robe
rt Earl KeenRuthie FosterPatrice PikeMonte Warden and Colin BoydAfter MathColin GilmoreLZ LoveChristine Albert and Chris Gage offering music lovers a night of country, folk, blues, gospel, contemporary rock and more. The event will be emceed by Jim Spencer, KXAN-TV – Austin.  An after party features music by White Ghost Shivers.

Sara Hickman explained the driving force behind the project. “I wanted to utilize my position as the Official State Musician of Texas to promote families being creative together. Many times this starts with children bringing home ideas they learn at school. That’s why I created this compilation CD, to raise funds for Theatre Action Project and help them take the arts and theatre back into the schools.”

The Best of Times album reads as a Who’s Who of Texas music all performing Sara Hickman’s original songs. It features Willie Nelson, Shawn Colvin, Rhett Miller, The Flatlanders, Robert Earl Keen, Edie Brickell & the New Bohemians, Abra Moore, Michelle Shocked, David Garza w/Todd Wolfson, Jimmy La Fave, Betty Soo, Ruthie Foster, Marcia Ball, Trout Fishing in America, Brave Combo, White Ghost Shivers, Ana Egge, Suzanna Choffel, Matt the Electrician, The Daze, Gretchen Phillips, Andrea Perry, Monte Warden with Colin Boyd, After Math, LZ Love, Patrice Pike, Shelley King, Elizabeth Wills, Joel Guzman w/Sarah Fox, Joe McDermott, Trish Murphy with Charlie Sexton & Skyrocket, Jess Klein, The Djembabes, Ray Von Foster, Christine Albert and Chris Gage.

To purchase tickets, visit:, or call: (512) 474-1221. To sign up as an official event sponsor, please call Karen LaShelle, Executive Director of Theatre Action Project: (512) 442-8773, or email:

Theatre Action Project is a team of professionally trained artists and educators that works in partnership with schools and communities to lead unique and engaging arts programs which allow young people to learn critical life skills, gain tools for creative expression and have successful experiences that build self-esteem and confidence.


Your TXNP Weekly E-Newsletter is made possible by the generosity of:

FROST in many Texas cities

TXNP Professional Members Are Dedicated to Texas and Texans.

Aurora Grants & Consulting |Dawson Murray Teague Communications | ELITE Research | FOR THE PHILANTHROPIST | Graystone Consulting | J A Churchill Associates | John F. Lewis PC | McConnell & Jones LLC

Sign up for your personal TXNP E-Newsletter

at-t Meadows Foundation express news HOBLITZELLE FOUNDATION v greenly zachry foundation w b h b bank of america southwest airlines Sid W. Richardson Foundation forst