Search TXNP

< More Nonprofit Exchanges

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Share: facebooktwitterdigg

San Antonio Sports - Sidelines - January 2011
San Antonio Sports

January, 2011

trouble viewing this email? click here.

Local Students Catch Soccer Fever
Local Student is Hooked on Fencing

NCAA Volleyball
Get your ticket packages now for the 2011 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship.

NCAA Division I men's Basketball
Get one of the best seats in the house! Alamodome suites available. For more information, contact Chynnon Albeck at 210.207.3650 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              210.207.3650      end_of_the_skype_highlighting or

NCAA Championship City

A New Year to Transform Our Community Through the Power of Sport

Happy New Year! San Antonio Sports is looking forward to an exciting year.  Winter and spring will have an event for every kind of sport fan.  Kicking it off in February is our Valero Go!Kids Challenge(tm) followed by the San Antonio Sports Hall of Fame Tribute presented by AT&T. Always an evening to remember, you may purchase individual tickets or tables online. If you like to make things happen, volunteer for one of our NCAA events this spring, from swimming to basketball. You may find out more about all of these by visiting our website at  And I look forward to seeing you there!

Dr. Susan Blackwood
Executive Director

San Antonio Sports Hall of Fame
Next month is THE sports gala event of the year. The San Antonio Sports Hall of Fame Tribute presented by AT&T takes place Feb. 18 at the Alamodome. The class of 2011 (Priest Holmes, Al Marks, C. Marvin Gustafson, Laura Neugebauer Groff and Jerod Douglas) will be inducted, and San Antonio Express News Sportsman of the Year, Justin Olsen, and Sportswoman of the Year, Lynn Hickey will be honored. Tickets may be purchased by clicking here. You can also purchase a $50 raffle ticket and win one of the following grand prizes: a trip to the Aspen Food & Wine Festival, 2011 Kentucky Derby, the 2012 BCS National Championship, the 2011 Emmy Awards or $5,000 in cash. Only 600 raffle tickets will be sold. To purchase one (or more), contact Dorsena Picknell at 210.820.2112 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              210.820.2112      end_of_the_skype_highlighting or 2011 SAS Hall of Fame

2010 Leo & Chickie Rose Volunteer of the Year
San Antonio Sports appreciates all our volunteers, but Jeff Schnoor went above and beyond in 2010, volunteering more than 530 hours! For that, and for offering his help whenever asked, Jeff was recognized as our 2010 Volunteer of the Year. He took the lead on running the shuttle service for the 2010 Women's Final Four, was a team captain for a water station during the Rock ‘n' Roll San Antonio Marathon & 1/2 Marathon, and served as team host during the NCAA DIII Soccer Championship, among other duties.

According to David Blank, volunteer coordinator, Jeff makes himself available to our organization as often as possible. "I don't know how many times he has gone out of his way to help make my job easier. He is always willing to help out when there is a need, from recruiting additional volunteers to helping cover our front desk at the office." Jeff was both honored and surprised by the recognition. "Volunteering for San Antonio Sports is a great experience," he explains. "The staff are great and professional and make any volunteer experience worth doing. I've had fun at every event."
Volunteer of the Year Jeff Schnoor
Jeff Schnoor (left), receiving the 2011 Leo & Chickie Rose Volunteer of the Year Award from San Antonio Sports Volunteer Coordinator, David Blank.

A Longtime Friend Joins San Antonio Sports
San Antonio Sports has appointed Gina Castro as its youth program director. Castro was previously with Harlandale Independent School District as the Safe & Drug Free Schools/CATCH Facilitator. In that role, she was the district's contact with San Antonio Sports for several programs including the Valero Go!Kids Challenge(tm), School Rock Challenge and Dreams for Youth Athlete & Wellness Development Study.

Castro joined the Harlandale school district in 1984 as a health and physical education teacher. She received her master's degree in educational leadership from the University of Texas at San Antonio and her bachelor's degree in health & physical education, teaching field, from the University of Texas at El Paso.

"We are delighted to have someone with Gina's experience join our team," says Dr. Susan Blackwood, executive director, San Antonio Sports. "Her knowledge of the school system and our programs will help us make more of an impact in transforming our community through the power of sport."
Gina Castro, new Youth Program Director

Help Wanted for the 2011 NCAA Convention
The annual NCAA Convention is in San Antonio January 12-15 and they are in need of volunteers. For more information or to register for a shift, click here.
US Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association

Get Your Tickets Now for the NCAA DI Volleyball Championship
December will be here before you know it! That's when the nation's top four collegiate women's volleyball teams will be in San Antonio, ready to compete for the 2011 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship in the Alamodome, December 15 and 17. For just $52, volleyball fans can see two semifinal matches and the national championship match from lower level or club seats. The all-session tickets are on sale now at or 800.745.3000 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              800.745.3000      end_of_the_skype_highlighting.

The championship will be hosted by San Antonio Sports, the University of Texas at San Antonio and the City of San Antonio. San Antonio, which has the prestigious designation of being an NCAA Championship City, hosted the tournament in 2005.

Corporate Champions
Become a Corporate Champion.
Merrill Lynch
Union Pacific Railroad

Business Champions
Become a Business Champion.
Foresight Golf
The Soccer Factory

Business Champions $2500
Become a Business Champion.
Allied Advertising
Bracewell & Giuliani
GLI, Inc.
PBK, Inc.

Champions Club
(Individuals giving $1000+.)
Join the Champions Club.
Gary & Sheila Arthur
James Blackwood
Susan Blackwood
Charles Ebrom
Janet Holliday
Dr. Earl Smith

Individual Champions
Become an Individual Champion.
Mary Rose Brown
Dr. Daniel Franks
Dana Green Heffernan
Jerry & Brenda Johnson
Robert Jones
Robert McMahon
Mark Phariss
Lynn Roper
Richard W. Smith, Jr.
Robert & Kristine Thomas


Your TXNP Weekly E-Newsletter is made possible by the generosity of:

FROST in many Texas cities

TXNP Professional Members Are Dedicated to Texas and Texans.

Aurora Grants & Consulting |Dawson Murray Teague Communications | ELITE Research | FOR THE PHILANTHROPIST | Graystone Consulting | J A Churchill Associates | John F. Lewis PC | McConnell & Jones LLC

Sign up for your personal TXNP E-Newsletter

at-t Meadows Foundation express news HOBLITZELLE FOUNDATION v greenly zachry foundation w b h b bank of america southwest airlines Sid W. Richardson Foundation forst