Search TXNP

< More Press Releases

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Share: facebooktwitterdigg


December, 2010

Besides hundreds of private individuals that contribute to student scholarship funds at Texas State Technical College Harlingen, there are major donors recognized at the annual Noche de Gala banquet. The 2010 banquet honored Frank Boggus – owner of the Boggus Motor Co. in Harlingen and McAllen – for his community service, partnership with Automotive Technology and Auto Collision Technology programs at TSTC, and his support for the college’s continual growth.

More than 100 students benefit from over $200,000 in scholarship funds raised by the annual Noche de Gala. The sixth Noche de Gala also recognized past honorees for their ongoing support of TSTC. The honorees include 2005, Honorable Judge Filemon Vela (accepted by Blanca Vela); 2006, Joe and Teresa Long; 2007, Honorable Jim Solis; 2008, Connie de la Garza, and 2009, Col. William “Bill” Card (accepted by Bill Card Jr.). The Noche de Gala has raised approximately $1.2 million in scholarship funds for TSTC Harlingen during its six years.

“We’re very appreciative for the Lozano Long Promise Opportunity Scholarship matching grant because it pushes TSTC and our great sponsors to keep all of us annually renewing our support for students,” Dr. Cesar Maldonado, college president, told almost 300 guests at the gala.

“With your help and generosity our students graduate with little or no debt and they move on to live successful lives.”

The Lozano Long Promise Opportunity Scholarship annual pledge of $100,000 is made by The Long Foundation, led by Teresa and Joe Long, and its challenge to TSTC to raise a matching amount each year. The Long Foundation and the South Texas Academic Rising Scholars organization donated to the 2010 scholarship event at the Diamond level.

Platinum contributors included Coca-Cola Bottling Co. and United Launch Alliance. The Gold level donors were Boggus Motor Co., Chevron, Shell Exploration & Production, H-E-B, and TSTC employees.

The Silver level donors were Card Investment Group Inc., ValleyInternationalAirport, Dr. & Mrs. Cesar Maldonado, Valley Baptist Health System, First Community Bank, Matt and Patty Gorges, SpawGlass, and Mr. and Mrs. Bobby Farris and Mr. and Mrs. Tudor Ulhorn. The Bronze level contributions came from Gurecky Manufacturing Service, Mr. and Mrs. Luis Lopez, CTO Inc. and Bahnman Realty Inc.

The Star supporters included Mr. and Mrs. Jim Solis, MarineMilitaryAcademy, Mr. and Mrs. Bill Reagan, Chaplain and Mrs. Leo J. McDonald, Norbert and Ruthie Ewers, Mr. and Mrs. Jim Denison on behalf of Mr. and Mrs. Craig Vittitoe, Dr. Bill and Linda McKenna, Ned and Dee Davis, Blanca S. Vela, Dr. Nolan E. Perez, Joy and Jim Cocke, Technical Laboratory Systems Inc., Texas Gas Service, Harlingen Area Chamber of Commerce, Frost Bank, and Ray and Regena Rushing.



Your TXNP Weekly E-Newsletter is made possible by the generosity of:

FROST in many Texas cities

TXNP Professional Members Are Dedicated to Texas and Texans.

Aurora Grants & Consulting |Dawson Murray Teague Communications | ELITE Research | FOR THE PHILANTHROPIST | Graystone Consulting | J A Churchill Associates | John F. Lewis PC | McConnell & Jones LLC

Sign up for your personal TXNP E-Newsletter

at-t Meadows Foundation express news HOBLITZELLE FOUNDATION v greenly zachry foundation w b h b bank of america southwest airlines Sid W. Richardson Foundation forst