Search TXNP

< More Press Releases

Saturday, January 20, 2018

Share: facebooktwitterdigg

The Center for Nonprofit Management has announced the winners of its tenth annual Awards of Excellence
Center for Nonprofiot Management

November, 2010

The Center for Nonprofit Management has announced the winners of its tenth annual Awards of Excellence, which acknowledge the outstanding contributions the nonprofit sector makes to the community.  To recognize organizations that exemplify distinctive achievement in nonprofit management, $5,000 awards were presented at A Night of Light, an awards dinner benefiting the Center, Friday, November 19, 2010 at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas. 


In addition to the $5,000 unrestricted awards, winners also received an etched crystal award from Tiffany & Co. Steve Blow, columnist, The Dallas Morning News, served as Master of Ceremonies.  The 2010 Awards of Excellence finalists for the organizational awards were announced prior to the event and the winners were kept secret until the night of the event.  The finalists and winners included:


Corporate Social Responsibility Executive of the Year

·         WINNER: Debbie Taylor, Citi
Excellence in Social Innovation, operating budgets $1,000,000 & over

  • WINNER: CitySquare, formerly Central Dallas Ministries
  • FINALIST: Education is Freedom
  • FINALIST: SafeHaven of Tarrant County

Excellence in Social Innovation, operating budgets under $1,000,000

  • WINNER: Texas Loves Children, Inc.
  • FINALIST: Crossroads Community Services
  • FINALIST: Executives in Action

Excellence in Board Leadership

  • WINNER: C. Robert Ploger, PLAN of North Texas
  • FINALIST: Alan J. Perkins, Vogel Alcove
  • FINALIST: Lucious L. Williams, West Dallas Community Centers, Inc.

Excellence in Communications, in Honor of Robert Miller

·         WINNER: SafeHaven of Tarrant County

  • FINALIST: Ronald McDonald House of Dallas, Inc.
  • FINALIST: SPCA of Texas

Innovation in Nonprofit Leadership

·         WINNER: David Timothy, A.K.A. The SoupMan, SoupMobile, Inc.

  • FINALIST: Paige Flink, The Family Place

·         FINALIST: Rebecca Young, TACA

Excellence in Environmental Practices

·         WINNER: Trinity River Audubon Center

·         FINALIST: Camp Summit

·         FINALIST: River Legacy  Foundation

Fran and Phil White, Bank of America, are Chairs of the event.  Honorary Chairs include: Fran Eichorst and Phil Baewer, Barbara Cottrell, Anne and Kyle Crews, Sandy and Jim Cureton, Kathy and Christopher Gilson, Ashley and David Kellogg, Ruth and Harold Kleinman, Bobby B. Lyle, Peggy and Jim McCurry, Sally and Ted McPherson, Eloise and Robert Meachum, Patricia and Curtis Meadows, Mary Jay and Peter Michel, Ann and Mark Schooler, Roslyn Dawson Thompson and Rex Thompson. 

The host committee includes: Zachary Allen, Mary and George Baldwin, Gillian Breidenbach, Joleen and Jim Chambers, Betsy and Bennett Cullum, Gwen and Leldon Echols, Ann Fielder, Emily Horner, Tiffaney Dale Hunter, Brenda Jackson, Laura Kellogg, Katherine and Chris LaLonde, Everett Ledet, Sarah and Alan Losinger, Jenny and John Lurkins, Lynn McBee, Michelle Meadows, Lydia and Dan Novakov, Maggie Radford, Sam Santiago, Mae Frances Saulter, Robin and Karl Springer, Debbie Taylor, Sandy Washington and Susan and J. Scott Wilson.

An independent panel of judges selected all award winners.  These judges include: Elise Back, Paula Blackmon, Beverly Blumenthal, Suzanne Bock Grishman, Becky Bright, Janis Burklund, Edwin Cabaniss, Barbara Cambridge, Katherine Carlin, Anne Crews, Nancy     Crossman, Betsy Cullum,

Sandy Cureton, Pete De Lisle, Gwen Echols, Monica Egert Smith, Jay Fox, Gary Godsey, Lynn Goldstein, Suzi Greenman, Tuck Henry, Rue Henry, Brenda Jackson, Jeri Johnson, Margaret Keliher, Laura           Kellogg, Ashlee Kleinert, Lee Kleinman, Eric Krueger, Steve LaFredo, Valerie           Lawlor, Anne Leary, Elise Longpree, Sarah Losinger, Jill Louis, Marty Marks, Mae Marshall, Amy Meadows, Sharon Neal, Maggie Radford, Rod Riggins, David Ross, Shenna Rougely, Leslie Sabbath, Ann Schooler, Jaynie Schultz, Sylvia Sotelo Kidd, Karl Springer and Cynthia Yung.


The A Night of Light event was created in 2001 to recognize and celebrate nonprofit excellence in North Texas. Now in its tenth year, the event has awarded 50 agencies and individuals with $5,000 cash awards, a giving total of $250,000.  The dinner benefits the Center for Nonprofit Management.  The Center, serving more than 5,500 nonprofit staff, board and volunteers annually, works to build stronger communities by increasing the performance and impact of nonprofit organizations.


Your TXNP Weekly E-Newsletter is made possible by the generosity of:

FROST in many Texas cities

TXNP Professional Members Are Dedicated to Texas and Texans.

Aurora Grants & Consulting |Dawson Murray Teague Communications | ELITE Research | FOR THE PHILANTHROPIST | Graystone Consulting | J A Churchill Associates | John F. Lewis PC | McConnell & Jones LLC

Sign up for your personal TXNP E-Newsletter

at-t Meadows Foundation express news HOBLITZELLE FOUNDATION v greenly zachry foundation w b h b bank of america southwest airlines Sid W. Richardson Foundation forst